News Pakistan

Islamabad: Protest by Pakistan Workers Action Committee


On 23, May 2017 various convoys and groups of thousands of workers arrived at the protest camp in front of national press club Islamabad along with their trade union leaders, where they were warmly received. In the light of historical unity of workers, negotiations took place between labor leaders and the Government. Dr. Tariq Fazal, Minister of State for Capital Administration and Development Division, was given the responsibility by the Government whereas Afzal Butt, Khurshid Ahmad, Zahoor Ahmad Awan, Chaudhary Yasin, Liaqat Ali Sahi and Tika Khan negotiated on the behalf of workers.

They demanded an end to daily wages, recruitment on the permanent basis, minimum salary to be 20,000 and dismissed workers on the political ground should be given back their jobs and with that an end to the privatization policy. It was also decided to resolve these problems seriously, a meeting should be conducted between Prime Minister and labor leaders. Dr. Tariq Fazal came to Protest camp along with labor leaders. While addressing the workers Dr. Tariq Fazal said that the negotiations that took place on government level with Labor representatives will be resolved after a meeting with Prime Minister. The labor leader Khurshid Ahmad said that the labor unity led by Afzal butt has brought the government to negotiate. He paid tribute to the historical unity of workers. Zahoor Awan said that I am sure that after discussing the problems of working class with Dr. Tariq Fazal it will be resolved on priority basis.

While addressing Chaudhry Yasin said if the government did not come to the conclusion, to end the restructuring of CDA then we will shut down Islamabad. We want to solve the problems with negotiations. Secretary General of State Bank CBA Union said that workers are demanding their rights according to the constitution. And the contract based jobs is the worst form of exploitation. Contract system is a clear violation of the constitution. The government has assured that in all state institutions, jobs will be provided on the permanent basis. Tikka Khan said that we have always preferred dailouge to solve the worker’s problems. And this historical successful negotiation is a clear example. He said that we will stand by the rights of journalists, the leadership of PFUJ is playing a remarkable role for the media workers. We will always stand for their rights. He said that government should immediately implement wage board and protect the journalists. He appreciated the negotiating team. Finally, Afzal Butt Convener Pakistan Workers Action Committee said that the purpose for which we are united in Islamabad is primarily future program. Our movement will continue across the country until the workers’ issues are solved. He paid special thanks to workers and labor leaders.

Dr. Chengez Malik Joint Secretary Pakistan Trade Union Defence Campaign said that it is a start of a battle. We have to end capitalism and for that the workers of the world have to unite to intensify their struggle for the formation of workers society.

Liaquat Sahi (President Democratic Workers Union State Bank), Shafqat Warraich, Shahzad Chaudhary (President APP Employer-Union), Hidayat Ullah Khan (President Peoples Unity PIA), Ramzan Laghari, Islam Ud Din (President Insaf Workers Union), Shahzad Manzoor Kiyani (Vice President APCA), Chaudhary Yasin (General Secretary CDA Workers Union), Aurangzaib Khan, Muhammad Lateef, Muhammad Sadeeq Awan (Additional Secretary Insaf workers PWD Union), Tikka Khan, Afzal Butt (President PFUJ), Qurban Sati, Asim Sajjad (President Awami Workers Party Punjab), Iqbal Khattak (General Secretary Union ZTBL), Sardar Ghulam Mustafa, Dr. Imtiaz Abbasi (President Punjab Teachers Union), Siraj Gul Khattak (President Peoples Labor Bureau Attock), Javed Iqbal Baloch (Chairman WAPDA Hydro Union IESCO), Malik Fateh Khan, Zahir Gull, Ali Raza Alvi (General Secretary RIUJ), Liaqat Ali (President SME Bank Union), Chaudhary Banaras (General Secretary SME Bank Union), Akram Bhatti (General Secretary Sports Board Union), Asif Rasheed (Organizer RSF North Punjab), Saqib Zain (Organizer PTUDC Wah), Muhammad Akram Bunda (Assistant Pakistan Workers Confederation), Ismat Shah Jahan (Deputy General Secretary Awami Workers Party), Aliya Ameer Ali, Khalid (General Secretary Civil Aviation Union), Arshad Khan (General Secretary All Pakistan Para Medical Association), Tariq Wirk (President Non-Gazette Association PIMS), Chaudary Muhammad Shareef, Nasir Malik, Nayyer Ali, Amir Sajjad Syed, Shakeel Anjum (President National Press Club), Imran Dhillon and many others addressed the protest.